Summer Essentials – Coconut Oil

Hello Jumblies,

So, over on the secret Facebook group, I am talking about Summer Essentials from a beauty angle and I thought I would share with you too how kind am I?!

First Summer Essential that I pulled out of my basket is Coconut Oil. An obvious first choice really – coconut is the essence of Summer, isn’t it?

IMG_20160426_123338

Summer on a tray

Right, so before I tell you how I use coconut oil in my Summer Essentials, allow me to quote from the Queen Bee of Coconuts – Lucy Bee


 “As a Natural Beauty Product

Hair Care:

Coconut oil is natural nutrition for hair. Regular massage of the scalp with coconut oil may keep your scalp dandruff free. Coconut oil is extensively used in the Indian sub-continent for hair care.

It is an excellent conditioner and provides the essential proteins required for nourishing damaged hair. This is why it is used as hair care oil and used in manufacturing various conditioners and dandruff relief creams. Coconut oil is normally applied topically for hair care.

Skin Care:

Coconut oil is an excellent massage oil for the skin as well. It can act as an effective moisturiser on all types of skin including dry skin.

Coconut oil often helps prevent dryness and flaking of skin and some believe that it delays wrinkles and sagging of skin which normally become prominent with age.

Many people use coconut oil to treat various skin problems including psoriasis, dermatitis, eczema and other skin infections. Coconut oil forms the basic ingredient of various body care products such as soaps, lotions, creams, etc. used for skin care.”

Couldn’t say it better myself. Thank you Lucy, for allowing me to use that quote. If you would like a free brochure from Lucy Bee with loads more info, click here

Ok, so, three ways that I use this  as a beauty product:

  • Cappuccino. What? Yes indeedio, coconut oil makes a marvellous cappucino.It gives energy,is amazingly good for you and tastes great. Here’s what I do. Make coffee (obviously). Pour it into a large jug. Add a teaspoon of coconut oil. Whizz like mad with a stick blender. Frothy coffee.

IMG_20160426_130222 Small aside… I once made it in a blender jug, forgot to take the spoon out before I blended  -the result was a smashed blender and boiling hot coffee all over the kitchen.

Don’t do that.

 

  • Moisturiser. Now, the oil in the jar is in fact, not an oil, but a solid. Unless it gets warm, in which case, it’s an oil. Still with me?  As a solid, it is quite difficult to remove from the jar . Here’s what you do to make it into a marvellous souffle-like consistency. Scoop it all out the jar into the aforementioned large jug. Now, using a beater (not a blender, this time), beat like crazy for about five minutes. You will see it transform before your eyes . Spoon into various containers with wide lips (the container, not you!). Beware that if the weather gets warm, this will go back to an oil, so keep in the fridge if we have a heat wave (ever hopeful).

I use this when I get out of the shower and before I dry myself- I know, sounds odd, but it works. Put a bit in your hands and rub all over the old bod.Brilliant. Quick and job done.

  • Conditioner. About once a week, I rub this onto dry hair and leave as long as possible. Rinse, then wash hair. You’d think it would leave your hair very greasy, but it really doesn’t. Just shiny and bouncy.

Enough already – go get some and tell me how you like it. Also, share your ideas please.

Because every day should be joyful 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Summer Essentials – Coconut Oil

  1. Hi Colleen – great post on coconut oil – it’s the new superfood. I’ve had a coconut milk latte before and its was delicious – didn’t think about creating it myself – must look into that and make sure I don’t break the blender!

    Like

  2. I love Coconut Oil – particularly for my hair, which is a bit wild and frizzy! And I love cooking with it – my favourite is to brush sliced sweet potato with coconut oil and sprinkling with salt and pepper before baking, yummelicious!

    Like

  3. Oooh thanks for all these lovely ideas! I’m a huge coconut oil fan but at the moment I only use it in cooking, baking and in my frothy coffee. I will try using it as a beauty product too now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

